

Final allocation – 9 October 2008, revised on 15 October 2008

Three of the parties that were given an allocation in the original decision were not registered at Writ Day and so will not be eligible to submit a party list and therefore not able to receive any broadcast allocation. A fourth party failed to nominate a party list. The Electoral Commission decided on 9 October 2008 not to re-allocate the total of three minutes of opening address time given that broadcast of addresses was then imminent. The Electoral Commission has on 15 October 2008 reallocated the total available funds of \$40,000 as follows:

Party	Original allocation	Addition from re-allocation	Total final allocation
	All values include GST		
Labour Party, National Party	\$1,000,000	\$0	\$1,000,000
Green Party, Māori Party, NZ First	\$240,000	\$8889	\$248,889
The ACT Party, Progressive, UNITED FUTURE	\$100,000	\$3704	\$103,704
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party, Democrats for social credit, Residents Action Movement, Alliance, Family Party, Workers Party of New Zealand	\$10,000	\$370	\$10,370

The parties that did not register were: Kotahitanga Te Manamotu Hake Tiriti o Waitangi, New Zealand Liberals, South Island Party.

New World Order failed to nominate a party list.

Explanation

In making this re-allocation decision, the reasoning of the Electoral Commission was that:

- 1. In the initial allocation the decision was that \$2 million be allocated to the two largest parties. As this decision would have been the same regardless of the number of other parties, there was not an argument to re-allocate money to Labour or National
- 2. The remainder of the money had then been distributed between the other parties and thus all were affected by the number of parties receiving allocation. Therefore the money was to be distributed to all of these parties, proportional to the initial decision.

Commissioners

The Electoral Commission members for the final allocation process were:

Hon Andrew McGechan, President Acting Chief Judge Wilson Isaac, Māori Land Court Ms Belinda Clark, Secretary for Justice Dr Helena Catt, Chief Executive (9 October 2008 only)

The decision was unanimous.