EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Where possible, the Representation Commission has maintained existing electorate boundaries for the next two general elections. 36 electorates are unchanged.

The main areas of change are in Auckland, Waikato, Christchurch, Otago and Southland. 7% of the population will be in a different electorate at the 2020 election.

There is one new electorate in South Auckland. The proposed name was Flat Bush. The final name following public consultation is **Takanini**.

The boundaries of 30 General and 5 Māori electorates have been adjusted to some degree.

Most of the boundary changes were signalled in the proposed electorates report published in November 2019.

Thoughtful and useful submissions were made by the public resulting in some adjustments to the proposed boundaries and a number of name changes.

North Island General electorates

The number of General electorates in the Auckland region has increased from 24 to 25. Changes include:

- Rodney is redrawn to include Dairy Flat and Coatesville, and renamed Whangaparāoa
- Helensville is extended into Northland,
 Whangaparāoa and Upper Harbour, and loses
 the Waitakere Ranges to New Lynn. The redrawn
 Helensville electorate is renamed Kaipara ki
 Mahurangi following public consultation
- To move population southwards to create the new electorate consequential changes have been made to Mt Roskill, Maungakiekie, Manukau
 East and Manurewa
- Following public consultation, the redrawn
 Manukau East electorate is renamed Panmure-Ōtāhuhu

- As a result of the public consultation process, a small area around Maungarei/Mount Wellington moves into Panmure-Ōtāhuhu to maintain links with Panmure
- Takanini is created by drawing population from Manurewa, the former Hunua electorate, and Papakura and includes Wattle Downs and Takanini
- Population from Waikato is added to Hunua which is renamed Port Waikato. Adjustments have also been made to the boundaries of Waikato with Coromandel, Hamilton West and Taupō
- There have also been adjustments to the boundaries of Whangārei and Bay of Plenty.

There are no boundary changes for 31 electorates including all of the electorates in the southern half of the North Island and the following electorates in the Auckland urban area: Auckland Central, Botany, East Coast Bays, Epsom, Kelston, Māngere, Mt Albert, North Shore, Northcote, Pakuranga, Tāmaki and Te Atatū.

South Island General electorates

The number of South Island electorates is fixed at 16. Changes include:

- Brightwater is moved from Nelson to West Coast-Tasman
- A redraw of the fastest growing electorate,
 Selwyn, which loses the Banks Peninsula area to Banks Peninsula (formerly Port Hills).
 Adjustments are also made to Ilam, Wigram,
 Banks Peninsula, Christchurch East and Rangitata
- Waitaki loses the Alexandra and Clyde area to Southland (formerly Clutha-Southland)
- The Otago Peninsula is moved from Dunedin South to Dunedin North, and South Otago is added to Dunedin South from Clutha-Southland.

As a result of these boundary changes these electorates are renamed **Taieri**, **Dunedin** and **Southland**

 It was proposed Winton and The Catlins be added to the Invercargill electorate. Public submissions have resulted in both Winton and The Catlins staying in the renamed Southland electorate with Invercargill expanding into western Southland, including Tuatapere.

No changes have been made to **Christchurch Central**, **Kaikōura** and **Waimakariri**.

Māori electorates

The number of Māori electorates remains at 7. Boundary changes have been made that affect 5 electorates:

- Tāmaki Makaurau has gained an area around Te Atatū South from Te Tai Tokerau and an area to the east of Manurewa and Waiheke Island from Hauraki-Waikato
- A minor adjustment between Ikaroa-Rāwhiti and
 Te Tai Tonga has been made in Naenae.

No boundary changes have been made to **Te Tai Hauāuru** and **Waiariki**.

Name changes

11 electorates have new or amended names, including the new electorate in South Auckland, to better reflect the geographic areas and communities they cover:

- Whangarei becomes Whangārei
- Helensville becomes Kaipara ki Mahurangi
- Rodney becomes Whangaparāoa
- Manukau East becomes Panmure-Ōtāhuhu
- Flat Bush, the proposed name for the new electorate, becomes **Takanini**
- Hunua becomes Port Waikato
- Rimutaka becomes Remutaka
- Port Hills becomes Banks Peninsula
- Dunedin North becomes **Dunedin**
- Dunedin South becomes **Taieri**
- Clutha-Southland becomes Southland

The final electorates can be viewed through interactive mapping at www.vote.nz. Electorate maps are also included in this report.