Who reviews electorate boundaries?

The Representation Commission is the independent body that reviews the boundaries and names of electorates.

Public officials and government and opposition appointees make up the Representation Commission. Usually a current or retired judge chairs the Commission.

The Commission’s membership includes:

  • a Chairperson
  • a Government representative
  • an Opposition representative
  • the Surveyor-General from Land Information New Zealand
  • the Government Statistician from Stats NZ
  • the Chief Electoral Officer from the Electoral Commission
  • the Chairperson of the Local Government Commission.

When considering the Māori electorate boundaries the membership will also include:

  • a Government Māori representative
  • an Opposition Māori representative
  • the Chief Executive of Te Puni Kōkiri.