Media & news Te hunga pāpāho me ngā rongo kōrero

Back to all media & news

Hamilton West by-election candidates and voting places

Nov 9, 2022 | Media release

The Electoral Commission has released the names of the candidates standing in the Hamilton West by-election, along with a list of voting places for when voting starts.

12 candidates are seeking election as the Hamilton West member of Parliament. Nominations for the by-election have closed and the following candidates have been confirmed.

Candidate name Party
DANSEY, Georgie   Labour Party
DICKSON, Gordon John Independent
DU PLOOY, Rudi New Conservative + One Party
FU, Frank Independent
McDOWALL, James ACT New Zealand
OSMASTON, Richard Money Free Party
POCOCK, Naomi The Opportunities Party (TOP)
POKERE-PHILLIPS, Donna NZ Outdoors & Freedom Party
POTAKA, Tama National Party
SHARMA, Gaurav New Zealand Momentum Party
TAIT, Jade Vision New Zealand
WAKEMAN, Peter Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party

‘Now that nominations have closed, we can start to print voting papers for the by-election,’ says Karl Le Quesne, Chief Electoral Officer.

Voting in the Hamilton West electorate starts on Monday 28 November and ends at 7pm on election day, Saturday 10 December.

‘There will be 12 advance voting places open before election day in locations that are easy to access, where people will be able to enrol and vote,’ says Karl Le Quesne. ‘The days and hours that advance voting places are open vary, so please check before you go to vote.’

On election day, Saturday 10 December, 20 voting places will be open from 9am to 7pm.

Advance and election day voting place locations and opening hours are listed at

Voters enrolled in the Hamilton West electorate who are currently overseas, or who will be overseas on election day, can also vote. From Wednesday 23 November, voters who are overseas will be able to download voting papers from and return them by upload to the website.

More information on overseas voting can be found at

Back to top