Media & news Te hunga pāpāho me ngā rongo kōrero

Back to all media & news

Port Waikato by-election preliminary results

Nov 25, 2023 | Media release

The Electoral Commission has released the preliminary results for the 25 November 2023 parliamentary by-election in the Port Waikato electorate.

Port Waikato by-election preliminary results, 25 November 2023

TOTAL   18,318
Candidate Party Number of votes
BAYLY, Andrew National Party 14,023
COSTELLO, Casey New Zealand First Party 2,778
NGARO, Alf Metuakore NewZeal 402
RIPPON, Anna Joy Animal Justice Party 287
TURNER, Kim New Zealand Loyal 228
BRIGHT, Scotty DemocracyNZ 217
OVENS, Jill Annette Women's Rights Party 181
DICKSON, Gordon John Independent 86
SUDHAMALLA, Vijay Vision New Zealand 45
Candidate informal votes   71

The preliminary results are based on the 18,318 ordinary votes counted on election night.

Special declaration votes still to be counted are estimated to be 441 (2.4% of total votes). This includes an estimated 81 overseas votes and 360 special votes taken within the electorate.

The total estimated votes (those counted on election night plus estimated special votes to be counted) is 18,759.

Voter turnout for the 2023 Port Waikato by-election is estimated to be 35.8% of the 52,453 enrolled prior to election day. That compares with 31.4% turnout at the Hamilton West by-election in December 2022 and 40.5% at the Tauranga by-election in June 2022.

An estimated 67% of votes were cast in advance, excluding special votes.

The preliminary results are available at

The official results process starts tomorrow Sunday 26 November. All votes counted on election night will be recounted. Special declaration votes will be processed and counted. The target to release the official results for the Port Waikato by-election is Wednesday 6 December.

Back to top